Rave Reviews for The Mendocino Hotel & Garden Suites

“This is a great place to stay. The staff at the hotel are extremely polite and accommodating. Our room was so comfortable it was hard getting out of bed and down to the extraordinary coffee and breakfast.”
    — Peggy H on TripAdvisor, April 15, 2013

“Be sure to stop at this gorgeous hotel with hearty bistro eats in the oak and Victoriana Lobby Lounge, locally sourced Californian cuisine and in the quiet romantic dining room--- old world charm throughout. It will take you back in time with enjoyable service and not-too-expensive prices to boot.”
    — ZAGAT Guide, February 2013

“I had a wonderful room at the Mendocino Hotel. (5 stars on Yelp)”
    — Andrea Q, Canyon Country, CA, November 22, 2012

“I chose Mendocino Hotel based on location and price. Most of the accommodations in Mendocino feature an “antique” or “Victorian” atmosphere; Mendocino Hotel shares this theme. Antique furnishings, oak carvings and a real wood-burning fireplace greet you upon entry. Our room was at the front of the building with views of the ocean and its own bathroom/shower. Be careful, some rooms at this hotel have shared bathroom facilities. I gave only four stars because the room was a little musty smelling and there was a little water damage in the bathroom. To me this is acceptable based on age of the building which appears to be an original 1800s era boarding house or hotel. The hotel cafe was better than I could have asked for. The decor was tasteful and creative, the menu featured fresh local fare. I recommend the crab benedict. Please note the live Ficus trees planted in the cafe. Lovely!”
    — TripAdvisor, November 5, 2012

“We stayed at the Mendocino Hotel last March via a groupon, enjoyed the setting looking over the headlands, spacious room w/fireplace and great food. We took walks along the headlands and had a chance to see whales off the coast.”
    — TripAdvisor, November 5, 2012

“Our room was a tad noisy but ocean view and entrance to a common deck made a delightful spot to sip a glass of wine before a lovely dinner downstairs. Victoriana all around, even a claw foot bath tub. Very sympathetic renovation and revival.”
    — Senior Contributor on TripAdvisor, November 2, 2012

“Stayed in nearby Mendocino at the restored Mendocino Hotel. The hotel, like the entire town, is charming and welcoming.”
    — Guest on TripAdvisor, October 22, 2012

“Just had to share my latest experience with The Mendocino Hotel.... I got to see Kris Kristofferson live and in person cause he was staying at the Mendocino Hotel!!!!! Woohoo I've always wanted to see him and I finally got to see him, what an awesome trip it was... so next time you stay at the Mendocino hotel you maybe sleeping in his bed. ;)”
    — Excited Guest on TripAdvisor, July 2012

TripAdvisor Logo “Every time I stay here, it’s an excellent experience!”
Frequent Guest, June 17, 2011
“Great Stay! Great Location!”
Another Guest, June 25, 2011

Bay List 2009 from SFGATE.COMBest Hotel in Wine Country, from Bay List 2009 from SFGATE.COM“Best Hotel in Wine Country for 2009”, as voted by readers of the San Francisco Chronicle.    — SFGate.com Bay List 2009

Japanese Esquire LogoEarlier this year, a team from Esquire Magazine in Japan visited Mendocino, including the Mendocino Hotel. Here is a translation of the article (PDF); here are the comments about the Mendocino Hotel, in Japanese; and here are the various pages where the article appeared:
Cover of Japanese EsquireCover of Japanese Esquire Page 1 of Japanese Esquire ArticlePage 1 of 2009 Japanese Esquire Article Page 2 of Japanese Esquire ArticlePage 2 of 2009 Japanese Esquire Article Page 3 of Japanese Esquire ArticlePage 3 of 2009 Japanese Esquire Article

“The views of both the cove and the Pacific would have been reason enough to rate the hotel highly but the incredible dinner put it over the top! The down pillows, excellent mattress, and snuggly soft bedding provided me with a peaceful slumber. The soothing sounds of the surf drifting through the open window were our lullaby! Bliss!”
    — Traveller, August 29, 2009

ZAGAT Survey“Victorian delights abound at this charming, period Mendocino Hotel restaurant kitted out with a dark-wood interior and a Californian menu that’s right on the mark; order small plates – or if nothing else, a cocktail and hang out in the bar under a stained-glass dome and drink in the lovely, Old West ambiance.”
    — ZAGAT SURVEY 2007

“The care with which it has been restored is a work of art: many of the paintings and much of the furniture date from the late 1800s and are from Europe. Sitting in the welcoming leather armchairs of the lobby in front of the open fire, it’s impossible not to think that Paul Newman and Robert Redford are upstairs in rooms identical to those in Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid.”
    — Marcella Borghi, Qui Magazine, December 2008, “Speciale Qui Touring Stati Uniti”

New Zealand Herald“At The Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites on Main we take a garden room (deep bath, open fire and the biggest bed I’ve ever seen) and then make for the Victorian dining room. It breathes sumptuousness and Old World sophistication.”
    — Graham Reid, Travel Writer, June 15, 2007, New Zealand Herald

“When is the last time you saw such guest pampering, outside of Europe?”
    — Los Angeles Magazine

On April 11, the Blushin’ Roulettes and their “Fine Friends” (their guy friends playing backup and singer Gwyneth Moreland) celebrated the unveiling of a new CD titled “Took to the Country” at the Mendocino Hotel — a perfect venue offering an Old West ambiance surrounding the rootsy, sultry group.
    — Ukiah Daily Journal, April 23, 2009

The Australian“MENDOCINO Offers a good range of quaint digs, but The Mendocino Hotel (45080 Main St.) with its busy Victorian décor, has the best location, large comfy rooms (with open fires), good food and an excellent wine list.”

Newhouse News Service“There are a fair number of small inns in these parts, but to get a bit of an Old West feel, check out the Victorian-style Mendocino Hotel & Garden Suites on Main Street. For breakfast, lunch or dinner.”
    — Evelyn Theiss, Newhouse News Service, October 2008

The San Francisco Chronicle“The full service Mendocino Hotel is an opulent Victorian jewel box.”

“Best Small Hotel in Northern California”
    — San Francisco FOCUS Magazine

TripAdvisor“Mendocino Hotel. Located right on the ocean front, it delivers great views, fresh air… majestic, great romantic getaway for people of all ages”
    — Rated #1 Hotel in Mendocino, June 2007, TripAdvisor

Santa Rosa Press-Democrat“The Mendocino Hotel, does everything right, including big breakfasts... in a garden room with a view out to the crashing surf. Romance doesn’t get much more romantic than this.”
    — Santa Rosa Press-Democrat